Cute Girl’s Pinafore Dress

On a rainy day in March my sister and I ventured up to London to the Country Living Fair to lap up the gingham and beautiful crafty works of art.  A perfect girls day out (minus the children!!)  Typically we came away with a number of purchases one of which was a present for my daughter, a lovely ‘Ketchup Dress’ from http://www.ilovebreadandjam.com.  They have a fantastic range of little pinafore dresses in some absolutely fantastic fabrics – check them out!

Anyway, I was inspired and came home with the dress (which really suited her) and thought it was high time I got out my machine and made my daughter some dresses myself for the summer (which still hasn’t arrived!!!).  Over the last couple of months I have been sewing away with the ‘Ketchup’ dress planted in my head and here is what she ended up with!!!

Blue Spotty PinaforeA spotty seaside dress.

Tape Measure Pinafore DressA fun tape measure dress.

IMG_0692A seaside print dress.

Liberty Print Flower PinaforeA liberty print purple flower power dress.

Liberty Print Feather PinaforeA liberty print peacock feather print dress

Navy Seaside Pinafore DressAnd finally another navy nautical print dress.

Don’t look too closely at the pictures, she has been wearing them for a while and I noticed a couple of marks which I need to sponge out!!!  From now on I will be taking pictures of the things I make when they are hot off the press!!!

STOP PRESS!!  I will be adding a Tutorial Section to my blog in the next couple of days (hopefully) and have started to write up notes on the steps I followed to make the dresses.  They were fairly quick and easy patterns so watch this space if you’re interested!

2 thoughts on “Cute Girl’s Pinafore Dress

  1. You’ve made some wonderful dresses. I’ve just added a tutorial page to my blog as I’m enjoying making up my own patterns. I’m looking forward to seeing what tutorials you post. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks for looking! It’s easy to get carried away with little dresses, they always look so cute! I am making the most of it before she gets to an age when she wont be seen dead in something her mum makes!!!! Looking forward to seeing your patterns too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

