Picnic on the Common

Thought I’d share my first attempt at re-creating a real place out of fabric.  This is my textile picture of Southborough Common, Tunbridge Wells in Kent.Image

I found a picture of St Peter’s Church that I used as a template to cut out my fabric to ensure it is a true representation of the building.  The rest of the picture is indulgent.  Still managed to include ‘my little cupcakes’ including lots of sparkly bits and organza clouds!Image

I am finding that this is a really great way to use up scraps of fabric that would otherwise go in bin!  Only problem is I have an ever growing box of remnants that I now can’t bring myself to throw!!Image

The buttons also work well in this style of picture and add to the country cottage feel along with the gingham prints.Image

At the moment making these style of pictures is my absolute favourite form of artwork!

Leave a Reply

