Kitchen Chaos!!!

IMG_5852

Today was my daughter’s 5th Birthday Party and I arrived at the venue with a beautiful Disney Elsa Frozen cake and a batch of colourful Pop Cakes looking quite the organised mum!!  It was just an illusion!!!  The end result was perfect – an Elsa cake similar to the one Sofia set her heart on whilst looking at YouTube, but my day of creativity took its toll on my poor kitchen… not so organised after all!!!

My poor kitchen!
The night before!!

My baking began in the morning – the Youtube video we found called for 3 chocolate cakes to be made.  The first two  turned out okay but a little bit on the thin side, but never mind I thought, our Elsa cake would be made of 4 chocolate cakes!  The next batch of cakes didn’t turn out so well (children needed attention with this and that….) one cake was a bit burnt and the other was undercooked!!!!  These were not going to cut it and had to be put to one side.  My final batch of cakes had my full attention and both made it out of the oven in an acceptable state.

Cut out a small circle in the centre of each cake.

Cut out a small circle in the centre of each cake.

It’s necessary to cut holes in the centres of each of the cakes to make room for your Elsa doll to stand inside and this was easy with a cake cutter.

First cake ready to go!

First cake ready to go!

I made up a batch of chocolate frosting to stick them all together.

A very helpful Elsa !

A very helpful Elsa !

Time to get busy with the frosting and pile them all up on top of each other!  I should have mentioned that the bottom two cakes were the same diameter and the top two decreased slightly in size.

All stacked up and just the right height for Elsa!

All stacked up and just the right height for Elsa!

The top cake needs to be shaped into a dome.  I did this by cutting but I did see some tutorials where the cakes themselves were baked in a bowl.

 

Trim and shape the top of the cake.

Trimming and shaping the top of the cake.

My ever helpful daughter wanted to make sure Elsa fitted in so we wrapped her legs in cling film and tried her for size!

Elsa starts to take shape!!

Elsa starts to take shape!!

I covered the cake with the remainder of my frosting and tried to even out the shape

All covered in frosting.

All covered in frosting.

My frosting was a little bit sloppy at this stage so I put the covered cake in the fridge for a bit so it set slightly before I started the icing.

Creating Elsa's skirt.

Creating Elsa’s skirt.

I began by covering the board with white sugar paste.  This is a bit tricky as it was hard to avoid the chocolate frosting!!  I had managed to get the exact colour sugar paste from Hobby craft that I needed for Elsa’s dress and we rolled out a large circle of it and popped it over the stack.  I underestimated the size I needed and I had to be patient and tease and gently smooth it into shape.  I should have brought a couple more packs of the icing than I did as the covering could have done with being double its thickness to properly cover the lumps and bumps of my chocolate stack!  Sofia didn’t mind she was just happy her cake was taking shape!

Creating the back of Elsa's skirt.

Creating the back of Elsa’s skirt.

I rolled a further two sections out of white icing that I draped across the back of the cake.  Again smoothing and shaping as I went.  My son pointed out that she had a bit of a big bum but wouldn’t we all if we had that much chocolate inside us!!  Finally I finished off with a bit of piping over the skirt and some sugar pearl beads.

More or less finished!

More or less finished!

Not wanting to let my two disaster cakes go entirely to waste, I got rid of the burnt bits and uncooked bits and used the rest to make pop cakes.

My little pop cakes!

My little pop cakes!

By the time the last pop cake was finished I was propping my eyes open with matchsticks and was too tired to be bothered by the carnage in the kitchen.  Just another day in the life of a not so perfect domestic goddess!!!

Leave a Reply

